Early Years Learning and Teaching

All the children in the Early Years Department follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum (EYFS).  There are seven areas of learning which include three prime and four specific areas:-

Prime Areas:

  • Communication & Language
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development

Specific Areas:

  • Mathematics
  • Literacy
  • Expressive Arts and Design
  • Understanding the World

In both Lower Kindergarten and Upper Kindergarten classes pre-reading, writing and number activities are taught and the children are helped to discover and investigate through art, craft and environmental activities.

Specialist teaching in a number of areas greatly enhances the curriculum. We use the seven curriculum areas as the basic level and enrich the children’s experiences through a range of other activities including weekly Dance, Music and PE lessons together with assemblies, performances, trips and outings. Reception children also receive French and ICT lessons. All children participate in Wild Woods sessions in our own woodland area.